The Paul Bonel Memorial Award 2018

Paul Bonel Memorial Award

Sponsored by: TBC

This year’s recipient is: Stuart Lester

Last year’s recipient was: Nicola Butler



  • Margaret Deevy
  • Magda Gay
  • Keeks McGarry
  • John McKendrick
  • Ana Ardelean

This award is to be given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the play and playwork sector but who does not fit in to any other award category. This could be a recent contribution, one that has been ongoing for a while or one that is historical. This is not a lifetime achievement award but an award for what could be a single significant piece of work or project or something that has been happening over a long period of time.  It could be local, regional or national.

What the judges are looking for:

  1. In what way has this person had an impact on quality of, and access to, play opportunities, improvement of playwork practice, understanding of the importance of play?
  2. Where has this had the biggest impact on a number of individuals from any of these categories – children, playworkers, families, other professionals working with children, the general public, MPs and peers?
  3. Please state how this person has made a significant impact on the attitudes and behaviour of those involved in play and playwork regarding the inclusion of all children and families – ie disabled children and those from ethnically, culturally and socially diverse backgrounds
  4. How has this person’s contribution been long-lasting and or made a sustainable impact